Course Structure

The Diploma in Islamic Banking is equivalent Level 5 on the National Qualifications Framework of England, Wales, and Northern Ireland in the United Kingdom.

The course has five modules with 23 lessons and questions at the end of each lesson. The questions are designed to test your understanding of the fundamental concepts and the significance of their practical applications. The last lesson provides an introduction to the concept of insurance in Islam and the importance of insurance in lending operations and a source of additional income for Islamic banks.

Module 1: Islamic Economic System

Lesson 1. Introduction to Economic Theories and Islamic Economic System

Lesson 2. The Historical Development of Islamic Banking

Lesson 3. Islamic Commercial law

Lesson 4. The Basic Prohibitions

Lesson 5. Qard and Dayn in Islamic banking

Lesson 6. Principles of Islamic Commercial Contracts

Lesson 7. Islamic law of Sale and Purchase

Module 2: Modes of Shari’ah-Compliant Transactions

Lesson 1.  Introduction to Islamic Modes of finance

Lesson 2.  Non-participatory Modes of finance

Lesson 3.  Participatory Modes of finance

Lesson 4.  Accessory Modes

Module 3: Islamic Banking Operations

Lesson 1. Key Characteristics of Islamic Banking Operations 

Lesson 2. Islamic Retail Banking Services

Lesson 3. Islamic Investment Management Services

Lesson 4. Corporate Banking Services

Lesson 5. Investment Banking in Islamic Banks

Lesson 6. Treasury and International Banking

Module 4: Governance, Regulation, Accounting Issues in Islamic Banking

Lesson 1.  Social Responsibility and Internal Controls 

Lesson 2.  Regulatory Compliance Functions

Lesson 3.  Risk Management in Islamic financial Institutions

Lesson 4.  Modern trends in Islamic Banking

Module 5: Introduction to Islamic Insurance (Takaful)

Lesson 1.  Insurance and the Introduction of Takaful

Lesson 2. Takaful and Retakaful